In-Office Ear Tube Clinical Study

The Hummingbird research study is designed to evaluate ear tube placement in an office setting.  Children will be treated in the Ear, Nose, & Throat clinic with a topical anesthetic rather than the standard method of placing ear tubes in an operating room under general anesthesia.  Up to 200 children will be included in the study.

Basic Eligibility
  • Scheduled to undergo ear tube placement.
  • Ages 6 months through 24 months or 5 years through 12 years.
Consult a physician enrolling patients in the Hummingbird In-Office clinical study for study eligibility, potential benefits and risks.

Hummingbird® Tympanostomy Tube System

 

 

The Hummingbird® System is a disposable surgical tool designed to deliver a tube into the eardrum of patients during an ear tube placement procedure. The Hummingbird ear tube system was designed to place ear tubes in less time with fewer steps and without prolonged discomfort. Ask your physician what is best for your child.

Enrolling Centers & Study Physicians

California

Cedars-Sinai Medical Care Foundation
Beverly Hills –  Not yet recruiting

Contact: Gene Liu, MD
310-423-1220
LiuGC@csmns.org

Investigator: Gene Liu, MD
Investigator: Frank Rimell, MD

FLORIDA

Children’s Ear Nose Throat & Allergy
Orlando –  Recruiting

Contact: Isabel Opio
407-253-1000 ext 107
iiopio@childrenentdocs.com

Investigator: James Kosko, MD
Investigator: Cheryl Cotter, MD
Investigator: Eric Jaryszak, MD
Investigator: Joshua Gottschall

Pediatric Otolaryngology
Associates, LLC
Jacksonville – Recruiting

Contact: Daniel Wohl, MD
904-262-7368
dwohl@ent4kids.net

Investigator: Daniel Wohl, MD

Minnesota

HealthPartners Institute
Bloomington –  Recruiting

Contact: Kyra Wicklund, MPH
651-254-5303
kyra.e.wicklund@HealthPartners.com

Investigator: Chris Hilton, MD
Investigator: Derek Schmidt, MD

Mayo Clinic
Rochester – Recruiting

Contact: Nicole Tombers, RN
507-538-1392 Ext 2
tombers.nicole@mayo.edu

Investigator: Shelagh Cofer, MD
Investigator: Alyssa Smith, MD

St. Cloud Ear, Nose & Throat
St. Cloud – Recruiting

Contact: Jen Wipper
320-204-5887
wipperj@pinnacleresearch.org

Contact: Alisse Amundson
320-204-5887
amundsona@pinnacleresearch.org

Investigator: Theodore Truitt, MD

Park Nicollet
St. Louis Park – Recruiting

Contact:  Kyra Wicklund, MPH
651-254-5316
kyra.e.wicklund@HealthPartners.com

Investigator: Sandra Skovlund, MD
Investigator: Grace Nimmons, MD

North Dakota

Prairie Sinus Ear & Allergy, P.C.
Bismarck – Recruiting

Contact: Jay Raisen, MD
701-805-8057

Investigator: Jay Raisen, MD

Altru Professional Center
Grand Forks – Recruiting

Contact: Brenda Westacott
701-780-1845
bwestacott@altru.org

Investigator: Alan Johnson, MD

For more information on ear infections, visit: